We are Art Spark Dance

What We Do

What We Do

four dancers with and without disabilities standing in a circle and holding hands


Over the last 14 years, Art Spark Dance has offered a variety of inclusive and accessible dance improvisation classes both online and in-person. Check our calendar for current class offerings. To view pre-recorded classes for at-home practice visit our Youtube below.
Poster for past intensive


Art Spark Dance has invited renowned dance artist-educators to lead week-long workshops covering a range of methods. Past guest instructors include Karen Nelson, Nina Martin, Alito Alessi, Sandra Paola López Ramírez, and Vertigo Power of Balance. Check our calendar for upcoming intensives.
A group of seven dancers with and without disabilities stand pointing to the sky.


Our latest report, Refocusing Dance Education, sets the stage for a new and ambitious inclusive dance education initiative. This report, made possible by the National Endowment for the Arts, explores practitioner insights about the style, substance, and depth of any disability and dance gathering. We hope you will engage with our findings and join the conversation as we continue to gather input from across the field.
ADF 19 - Body Shift -05.28.19-21


Our performance group, Body Shift Collective, has presented a number of improvisational works of dance in both traditional and non-traditional spaces. We have performed at Texas State University, Rollins Theatre, Ballet Austin, Texas Dance Improvisation Festival (TDIF), and Austin Dance Festival. Site-specific performances have been held at the Domain, Austin City Hall, Sparky Park, and other locations. Our performances feature dancers with and without disabilities, thereby shifting perceptions about who can dance and what a dancer looks like.

Sign up for our monthly Art Spark Dance newsletter to learn about upcoming classes, performances, and other events.

Tremendous thanks go to the talented photographers behind the incredible photos on our website: Camille Wheeler, Pat Berrett, Boye Nagle, Silva Laukkanen, and James Wilkus.